Your submission was sent successfully! Close

You have successfully unsubscribed! Close

Thank you for signing up for our newsletter!
In these regular emails you will find the latest updates about Ubuntu and upcoming events where you can meet our team.Close

How to manage access groups in Landscape

See also: Access groups

This document describes how to manage access groups.

Contents:

Create access groups

To create a new access group:

  1. Navigate to your organisation’s home page
  2. Click the Access groups tab
  3. Enter the requested information
  4. Click Save.

When you create a new access group, you must provide a title for the access group and a parent. The title can be whatever you want to name this new access group. The parent must be the global access group or an access group that is a child of global. If you want a flat management hierarchy, you can make every access group a child of global. Alternatively, you can use parent/child relationships to create a hierarchy of access groups. For instance, you could specify different sites at a high level, and under them individual buildings, and finally individual departments. Such a hierarchy allows you to specify groups of computers to be managed together by one administrator. Administrators whose roles are associated with higher-level access groups can manage all subgroups of which their access group is a parent.

When a new access group is first created, its administrators are those who have roles linked to its parent access group, but you can edit the roles associated with an access group. For more information, visit how to associate roles with access groups.

Edit access groups

To change the name or title of an existing access group:

  1. Navigate to your organisation’s home page
  2. Click the Access groups tab
  3. Click the name of the access group you want to edit
  4. Click Edit access group
  5. Make your changes
  6. Click Save

Delete access groups

To delete an existing access group:

  1. Navigate to your organisation’s home page
  2. Click the Access groups tab
  3. Click the name of the access group you want to delete
  4. Click Edit access group
  5. Click Delete
    • You will be asked to confirm this operation.
  6. Click Confirm to confirm the group’s deletion

When you delete an access group, its resources move to its parent access group.

View existing computers in an access group

To view existing computers in an access group:

  1. Navigate to your organisation’s home page
  2. Click the Access groups tab
  3. Click the name of the access group you want to view
  4. Click the link in the text There is [number] computers in this access group on the right side of the screen

Or, you can view existing computers directly from the Computers page in the header by using the search bar:

  1. Navigate to the Computers page in the header
  2. Enter access-group followed by a : (colon) and the name of your access group
    • E.g., access-group:global

Add computers to access groups

To add computers to in an access group:

  1. Navigate to your organisation’s home page
  2. Click the Access groups tab
  3. Click the name of the access group you want to add computers to
  4. Click selecting computers from the text on the right side of the screen
  5. Select the checkbox next to each computer you want to add
  6. Click the Info tab
  7. Scroll to the Access group section at the bottom of the page
  8. Select the access group you want from the dropdown menu
  9. Click Update access group

You can also add computers to access groups directly from the Computers page in the header by using the search bar:

  1. Navigate to the Computers page in the header
  2. Enter access-group followed by a : (colon) and the name of your access group
    • E.g., access-group:global
  3. Select the checkbox next to each computer you want to add
  4. Click the Info tab
  5. Scroll to the Access group section at the bottom of the page
  6. Select the access group you want from the dropdown menu
  7. Click Update access group

Associate roles with access groups

To associate a role with one or more access groups:

  1. Navigate to your organisation’s home page
  2. Click the Roles tab
  3. Click the name of the role that you want to edit
  4. Select the checkbox next to the access group you want to associate the role with on the right side of the screen
  5. Click Save

Note that you cannot modify the GlobalAdmin role, so there is no link associated with that label.

This page was last modified 19 days ago. Help improve this document in the forum.